History and Architecture

St. Simon's Church

St  Simon's is a late Victorian church building with attached hall (1879 - 1886), designed by Sir Arthur Blomfield. The first stone was laid in 1878, and the first service was conducted in 1880. The church is set in the midst of terraced housing a few hundred yards south of Shepherds Bush Green. It has an imposing spire and clock tower and a small garden space. The chancel, parish hall (East hall) and spire were completed in 1886. The tower and spire start from a pentagonal base and become hexagonal above the aisle roof. Tower and spire are polychrome and have strong horizontal bands of stonework. One of the most striking pieces of stained glass in the church is the east window.  This is above the altar, visible as you enter the church, and was put in place in 1903 to commemorate the first vicar, the Reverend Robert Handcock. The style is rich and colourful (like that of Clayton and Bell).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The c 1865 organ of Dunblane cathedral was purchased second hand in 1893 and bears the words "Rebuilt by Eustace Ingram, London 1893". Most of the music in the church is played on keyboard and guitars, with the organ regularly used during Sunday morning communion services. There are stencilled ornaments on the east wall and to the north and south of the sanctuary. The wood is decorated with simple Gothic flower patterns and there are little arches featuring Christ, Moses and St Simon. This is in the simple 1870s style associated with churches designed by Clayton and Bell, Butterfield or Scott.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Get involved

24
MAR

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 24 March 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

25
MAR

Monday Prayer

Date: 
Monday, 25 March 2019 09:10 - 10:10
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

25
MAR

Bush Fellowship Weekly Meeting

Date: 
Monday, 25 March 2019 14:00 - 16:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

26
MAR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 26 March 2019 18:30 - 20:00

28
MAR

Play Cafe

Date: 
Thursday, 28 March 2019 09:30 - 11:00

28
MAR

Food Bank

Date: 
Thursday, 28 March 2019 13:00 - 15:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

28
MAR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 28 March 2019 18:30 - 20:00

31
MAR

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 31 March 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

31
MAR

Youth Group

Date: 
Sunday, 31 March 2019 11:00 - 12:00

02
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 2 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

02
APR

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 2 April 2019 19:45

04
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 4 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

07
APR

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 7 April 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

09
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 9 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

11
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 11 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

14
APR

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 14 April 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

14
APR

Youth Group

Date: 
Sunday, 14 April 2019 11:00 - 12:00

16
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 16 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

17
APR

Praise PEG

Date: 
Wednesday, 17 April 2019 19:45 - 21:00

18
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 18 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

21
APR

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 21 April 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

23
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 23 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

25
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 25 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

28
APR

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 28 April 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

30
APR

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 18:30 - 20:00

02
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 2 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

05
MAY

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 5 May 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

07
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 7 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

07
MAY

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 7 May 2019 19:45

09
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 9 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

12
MAY

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 12 May 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

14
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

15
MAY

Praise PEG

Date: 
Wednesday, 15 May 2019 19:45 - 21:00

16
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 16 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

19
MAY

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 19 May 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

21
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 21 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

23
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 23 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

26
MAY

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 26 May 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

28
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 28 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

30
MAY

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 30 May 2019 18:30 - 20:00

02
JUN

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 2 June 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

04
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 4 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

04
JUN

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 4 June 2019 19:45

06
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 6 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

09
JUN

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 9 June 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

11
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 11 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

13
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 13 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

16
JUN

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 16 June 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

18
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 18 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

20
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 20 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

23
JUN

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 23 June 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

25
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 25 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

27
JUN

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 27 June 2019 18:30 - 20:00

30
JUN

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 30 June 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

02
JUL

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 2 July 2019 18:30 - 20:00

02
JUL

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 2 July 2019 19:45

04
JUL

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 4 July 2019 18:30 - 20:00

07
JUL

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 7 July 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

09
JUL

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 9 July 2019 18:30 - 20:00

11
JUL

Boxing Club

Date: 
Thursday, 11 July 2019 18:30 - 20:00

14
JUL

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 14 July 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

16
JUL

Boxing Club

Date: 
Tuesday, 16 July 2019 18:30 - 20:00

21
JUL

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 21 July 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

28
JUL

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 28 July 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

04
AUG

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 4 August 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

06
AUG

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 6 August 2019 19:45

11
AUG

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 11 August 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

18
AUG

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 18 August 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

25
AUG

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 25 August 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

01
SEP

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 1 September 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

03
SEP

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 3 September 2019 19:45

08
SEP

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 8 September 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

15
SEP

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 15 September 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

22
SEP

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 22 September 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

29
SEP

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 29 September 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

01
OCT

PEG Prayer Meeting

Date: 
Tuesday, 1 October 2019 19:45

06
OCT

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 6 October 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

13
OCT

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 13 October 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

20
OCT

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 20 October 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom

27
OCT

Sunday Service

Date: 
Sunday, 27 October 2019 10:30 - 12:00
Rockley Road 020, W14 0DA London, United Kingdom